The President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, was on Dec. 6 night awarded the 2019 Zik Prize in Political Leadership. Ola Awoniyi, his Special Adviser on Media, in a press release on Monday in Abuja mentioned Lawan’s Chief of Staff; Dr Babagana Muhammad-Aji, received the award on behalf of the Senate President.

Awoniyi mentioned the award was organised by the Public Coverage Analysis and Evaluation Centre (PPRAC).

Awoniyi quoted the organisers to have mentioned that Lawan’s consideration was in recognition of his long-standing dynamic service in Nigeria and his undying commitment to entrenchment of democratic beliefs within the polity.

Lawan in his acceptance speech, delivered by Dr Muhammad-Aji, expressed his pleasure and delight for the celebrated award.

Lawan mentioned the award would be devoted to his distinguished colleagues within the Senate, having remarkably risen above partisan differences to type a committed bond for progress and development of Nigeria.

He mentioned his recognition was a result of the unwavering help that he enjoyed from his colleagues who resolved to be bipartisan from day one of many ninth Nationwide Meeting.

Read more: FEC approves N4.519bn for roads, education

“I think about the award as a further name to responsibility, not just from a personal point of view however on behalf of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the National Assembly in general,” Lawan mentioned.

On behalf of his colleagues, Lawan assured the nation that they might proceed to place of their finest within the onerous task of nation building.

The Zik Value was arrange in 1994 in honour of the first President of Nigeria, Dr Nnamdi Azikwe, to encourage and nurture leadership on the African continent and within the Diaspora.

Earlier recipients of the prize includes President Jerry Rawlings (1995), President Julius Nyerere(1997), Dr Nelson Mandela(2000), President Yonweri Muzeveni(2003), President John Kuffor(2008).

Others are: Alhaji Yayale Ahmed(2010), President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf(2011), Aare Afe Babalola (2013), Hon. Yakubu Dogara(2015), Alhaji Ahmed Joda(2016), Chief Audu Ogbeh (2017) and Professor Ayo Ibidapo-Obe (2018).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here